Top » Catalog » Books » 978-1-925212-39-6 My Account  |  My Wishlist  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   
What's New? more
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2014 (hardcover)
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2014 (hardcover)
Notifications more
NotificationsNotify me of updates to Crow Shine (limited edition)
Crow Shine (limited edition)

Alan Baxter

Limited edition: 100 cloth bound hardcover copies signed and numbered. 302 pages.


Finalist for the Aurealis Award

Nominee for the Ditmar Award

The dark fantasy collection features 19 stories, including the Australian Shadows Award-winning "Shadows of the Lonely Dead"; and original title story "Crow Shine" in addition to two other never before published stories.

"Alan Baxter is an accomplished storyteller who ably evokes magic and menace. Whether it’s stories of ghost-liquor and soul-draining blues, night club magicians, sinister western pastoral landscapes, or a suburban suicide–Crow Shine has a mean bite."—Laird Barron, author of Swift to Chase.

"Crow Shine, by Alan Baxter, is a sweeping collection of horror and dark fantasy stories, packed with misfits and devils, repentant fathers and clockwork miracles. Throughout it all, Baxter keeps his focus on the universal problems of the human experience: the search for understanding, for justice, and for love. It’s an outstanding book."—Nathan Ballingrud, author of North American Lake Monsters.

"Alan Baxter’s fiction is dark, disturbing, hard-hitting and heart-breakingly honest. He reflects on worlds known and unknown with compassion, and demonstrates an almost second-sight into human behaviour."—Kaaron Warren, Shirley Jackson Award-winner and author of The Grief Hole.

"Buy your tickets, step up, and enter the world of Alan Baxter’s debut collection, Crow Shine. Here fates are brutal, justice is swift and merciless, yet even the most ruthless characters are sometimes – just sometimes – strangely touching. Crow Shine will terrify, surprise, and stun you."—Angela Slatter, World Fantasy and British Fantasy Award winning author.


  • Introduction by Joanne Anderton
  • Crow Shine*
  • The Beat Of A Pale Wing
  • Tiny Lives
  • Roll The Bones
  • Old Promise, New Blood
  • All the Wealth in the World
  • In The Name Of The Father
  • Fear Is The Sin
  • The Chart of the Vagrant Mariner
  • The Darkest Shade Of Grey
  • A Strong Urge To Fly*
  • Reaching For Ruins
  • Shadows of the Lonely Dead
  • Punishment Of The Sun
  • The Fathomed Wreck To See
  • Not The Worst Of Sins
  • The Old Magic*
  • Mephisto
  • The Darkness in Clara
  • Afterword by Alan Baxter

*Previously unpublished.

For more information, please visit this product webpage.
This product was added to our catalog on Saturday, 07. April 2018.
Free shipping within Australia on all orders over $49. Customers who bought this product also purchased
Magic Dirt: the Best of Sean Williams - Limited Edition
Magic Dirt: the Best of Sean Williams - Limited Edition
Quick Find
Use keywords or author names to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
Shipping & Returns
Privacy Notice
Conditions of Use
Loyalty Program
Contact Us
Shopping Cart more
0 items
Publisher Info
Ticonderoga Publications
Ticonderoga Publications Homepage
Other publications
Tell A Friend
Tell someone you know about this product.
Books (146)
Magazines (3)
Reviews more
Write ReviewWrite a review on this product!

Copyright © 2017
PO Box 29 Greenwood WA 6924 Australia
Fax: +618 9243 4297
Powered by osCommerce